Abishai Singh

Smart Technology Solutions

4017 Traffic Light

Hey guys, today I will show you the use of 4017 IC. Recently I used this IC to make a simple project for a local shop. The owner of the shop wanted lights just like traffic lights to be made on both sides of the entrance of his shop, as the name of the shop is “STOP COLLECTIONS”. These three lights will light like a traffic light.

Thus to do this, I found CD4017BC with Decade Counter/Divider with 10 Decoded Outputs. I had used this IC in past (when I was in 2nd year of BE) for making a “IR remote control fan regulator”, but unfortunately I was unsuccessful in that.

4017 is capable of giving 10 outputs one by one when a clock pulse is applied to it. But the problem with is that I require only three outputs for my three lights. I solved this problem by using the reset pin of the IC. You can see the pin diagram below:-

The diagram is taken from the datasheet for the purpose of education.

So I use the three outputs sequentially from the pins 3, 2 and 4 and connected the 4th output i.e from 7 to the reset pin i.e the 15th number pin. Thus my problem is solved and I got three outputs just like a traffic light.

The circuit is very simple and is shown below:-

You can make the circuit as it is to get the timing of the lights just like a real traffic light or you can skip some pins (as in my case) and get equal timing for all the lights for the decoration purpose.

Some pictures of my device are shown below:-

Packed In Box

Packed In Box

Open Box

Open Box

I connected the output of the three pins to the base of a simple npn transistor(BC 547) having a 4.7 K resistance in between, and this transistor having its emitter grounded and its collector connected to a 12v relay having a reverse diode(1N4007) connected in parallel to the relay for protection from the back emf.

I completed the circuit and now it ready to be connected in the shop. I am giving the link of the website from which I got the circuit, its really nice, you can see it be clicking this.

 

You can watch the live working of my project (the first one which I made on wero board) on YouTube from:-

One comment on “4017 Traffic Light

  1. First off I want to say superb blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you don’t
    mind. I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your mind prior to writing.
    I have had a hard time clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out there.
    I truly do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are lost simply just trying to figure out how to
    begin. Any suggestions or tips? Thank you!

Leave a Reply...

Information

This entry was posted on July 24, 2012 by in Projects and tagged .
Arduining

Physical Computing Mini-Projects

tronixstuff

fun and learning with electronics

Abishai Singh

Smart Technology Solutions

